Cisco CCNA Security Certification

CCNA Security Certification

Cisco Certified Network Associate Security (CCNA® Security) validates associate-level knowledge and skills required to secure Cisco networks. With a CCNA Security certification, a network professional demonstrates the skills required to develop a security infrastructure, recognize threats and vulnerabilities to networks, and mitigate security threats. The CCNA Security curriculum emphasizes core security technologies, the installation, troubleshooting and monitoring of network devices to maintain integrity, confidentiality and availability of data and devices, and competency in the technologies that Cisco uses in its security structure.

Implementing Cisco IOS Network Security (IINS) exam course focuses on security principles and technologies, using Cisco security products to provide hands-on examples. Using instructor-led discussions, extensive hands-on lab exercises, and supplemental materials, this course allows learners to understand common security concepts, and deploy basic security techniques utilizing a variety of popular security appliances within a “real-life” network infrastructure.


CNSS 4011 Recognition-
The US National Security Agency (NSA) and the Committee on National Security Systems (CNSS) recognizes that the Cisco CCNA Security certification courseware meets the CNSS 4011 training standard.
DoD 8570 Recognition-
The United States Department of Defense has certified the Cisco CCNA Security, Cisco CCNP Security, and Cisco Cybersecurity Specialist (SCYBER) Certifications as DoD 8570.01-M compliant.

CCNA Security Prerequisites:
Any valid Cisco CCENT, CCNA Routing and Switching, or any CCIE certification can act as a prerequisite.

Required Exam:

210-260 IINS – Implementing Cisco Network Security (IINS)

Duration: 90 minutes (60-70 questions)
Available Languages: English, Japanese
Register: Pearson VUE

This exam tests the candidate’s knowledge of secure network infrastructure, understanding core security concepts, managing secure access, VPN encryption, firewalls, intrusion prevention, web and email content security, and endpoint security using:

* SIEM Technology
* Cloud & Virtual Network Topologies
* BYOD, Bring Your Own Device
* Identity Services Engine (ISE)
* 802.1x Authentication
* Cisco FirePOWER Next Generation IPS (under Domain 6.0)
* Anti-Malware/Cisco Advanced Malware Protection

This exam validates skills for installation, troubleshooting, and monitoring of a secure network to maintain integrity, confidentiality, and availability of data and devices.

CCNA Security Recertification:
CCNA Security certifications are valid for three years. To re-certify, either pass any current Associate-level exam except for ICND1 exam, or pass any 300-XXX professional level or Cisco Specialist exam (excluding Sales Specialist exams), or pass a current CCIE written exam.

Exam Topics:

The exam is closed book and no outside reference materials are allowed. The following topics are general guidelines for the content that is likely to be included on the practical exam. However, other related topics may also appear on any specific delivery of the exam. In order to better reflect the contents of the exam and for clarity purposes, the following guidelines may change at any time without notice.

1.0 Security Concepts – 12%
2.0 Secure Access – 14%
3.0 VPN – 17%
4.0 Secure Routing and Switching – 18%
5.0 Cisco Firewall Technologies – 18%
6.0 IPS – 9%
7.0 Content and Endpoint Security – 12%

89 thoughts on “Cisco CCNA Security Certification”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *